In the Beginning…

Having begun this journey in a little town known as Miami, Oklahoma, it seems I have come full circle now, in this ever-changing beauty industry. Never did I dream I would find myself “starting over.” Through the years I have given spaces to rent in my business, or allow a commission type endeavor, to other beauty school graduates. I have watched as they struggled to make ends meet, waiting for people to “discover” them. Last April 25th, 2012, I sold my business in Oklahoma (then known as South Side Salon & Day Spa) and relocated to North Carolina. I now find myself waiting longer than my patience wants to, waiting to be “discovered”. Always wanting to do my own thing and not be dependent upon someone else to grow my business, I started out on my own in Apex, NC. After a full, excruciating 6 months, I am seeing a lot of promise.

When I started my first business in 1978, I had a second income in the form of my absolutely awesome husband. He has always encouraged me to be the very best I can be, and has provided opportunity for me to do just that. While building my first client base, he provided for me…never questioning my decisions. If my memory serves me well, it took only 3 months to build a client base worthy of real income. It’s been a bit longer this time around. Maybe in those early years, success was more easily attained because of my geographical domain. Situated in an area with equal distance between several small towns, I was privileged to absorb those in my community and its surrounding areas. It kept the residents from having to make a trip into town. Ahhhh…those were the days!!!

When I had down time in the salon of my first offerings of beauty, known as “Mary’s Place”, I could attend to the pressing household duties and always have a very neat and clean “castle” for my young husband, and dinner on the table when he got home. If I had only realized what he had actually given me…

Leave a Reply

