It’s True…Your Time Is Limited Time

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”  ~Steve Jobs

It’s a rare thing for us, while living the young years of life, to think about our futures being anything but long. The reality of life is that it is just a whisper. We begin to realize this as we age. As I look in the mirror, I wonder where my years have gone. I know I’ve lived them…just am amazed at how fast they seemed to have gone.

If I were to give any encouragement, any advise…I would say to “embrace transition”. Change happens. Years demand the transition from one ideology to another. From fantasizing, to reality, as we merge onto the redefining highway. Now…that doesn’t mean we look at our future as being a downer. No, no, no! The years bring CHANGE, not despair. A different reality. Possibly a NEW reality. All very good!

Seriously…think about it. Would you want to do (and be) the same today as you were yesterday? Okay…maybe stretch that a bit. Would you want to be doing the same thing today, as you were doing maybe 10 years ago? Nah…me neither!

I have been in the beauty industry for 38 years, with a couple of sebaticals…which brought change themselves…and I can tell you, my life has been a beautiful journey. But I believe the best is yet to come.

The purpose of this particular blog entry, is to dispel any type of fear one might face when looking into the looking-glass. I used to (long ago) watch the people who attended our beauty industry events. I could not imagine myself aging, and still being in the same business, as some of these older ladies. They were so dated in their hair styles, their clothing, their over-all appearance. I decided then and there, that I would go out strong…at my peak, and never allow myself this sort of (what I perceived to be) humiliation.

Well, that was one reason for my last sabbatical. Determined to re-identify myself, I closed the shop down, much to the dismay of many clients. That was in 1994 or ’95. Six years later, I was placing myself back in the industry that I loved. Crazy…simply crazy! Yet, it took only a short 6 months before my client base had built to where I could go back out on my own and open yet another business. It felt boomerangish. I threw it out, away from me (totally), and it returned to me as if it were so much a part of me, it had to come back. Just like those little paddle boards that have a rubber string attached to a small ball. You hit the ball away from you, and the rubber band brings it back to the paddle…or in the near vicinity of said paddle, to which you have to make the decision of whether to hit it again or let it fall.

Needless to say, I hit it again. Sometimes I question that decision, yet the ball keeps coming back to me. I suppose it is such a strong part of who I am, I must embrace it, with some element of change. Maybe a different way of hitting that little ball. But it all is good. We are made to be, and do, certain things in this short life we experience here on planet Earth. The sooner we follow the road we are set on, and stop taking all those rabbit trails, the better our lives will unfold. Sure, rabbit trails will bring a different kind of adventure. And maybe you can allow them once in a while. But what we are made for, is greatness in the inner person. Who we were created to be. And since we have a body of flesh and bone (and all those other ingredients), we must use it to get to where we are going. There is a plan, that if followed, will lead to a peaceful existence. And if we don’t follow that particular road, (for whatever reason), we will know no peace. Because we were not made for that existence.

When we find ourselves going in the wrong direction, we can always turn the car around, right? Right!

Don’t waste your years, do your own thing Passionistas!

 

 

Leave a Reply

