Imperfection

Elements Shining LightOh wow! I can’t believe I am still such a very self-centered person. A prideful, demanding, unrelenting individual. I know the principle of giving and receiving. Whatever we give out, will be what is metered back to us, at some point…usually right when we need it the most. “Do unto others, as you would have them do unto you.” ~Luke 6:31 “Give, and it shall be given unto you good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over.” ~Luke 6:38

As many of you know, I have made a 1200 mile trip to begin a new business in North Carolina, where I am virtually unknown. Yet, armed with confidence, encouragement, and the knowledge that God is wherever I find myself to be, we set out into the unknown. He would be the One I relied on when it got hard…as I knew it would. So, I put my hands to the task, the promise of a bright future within our reach, because of the faithfulness of our God. And, it was the only way I knew to live the rest of my life close to our girls.

Today, I find myself not as changed as I once thought myself to be. Sure, there’s been plenty of “storms” the years have brought our way. There have also been times of questioning God, even as He provided me with life’s needs. I have received so very much from the One who redeemed me so many years ago. Beyond salvation…

So, why am I so stingy?

Today, a lady came into the building where my room is set up for business. She has been around several times since last September, and each time has asked for a shampoo service. Just a shampoo. That’s it. No drying the hair, no styling the hair…just a shampoo. She has always made it known she never pays more than $4.00 for it and that one person even offered to shampoo her hair for free. Evidentially, she has had a health issue, making it very difficult to understand what she is saying. Yet she continues to make the rounds of all 20 plus stylists that have set up their own rooms in this building where I work. A couple have obliged her and took care of her need. But not me…

This is a business blog, so why am I confessing my shortcomings? Simply because we all are tempted from time to time, to ignore particular needs. We pick and choose our customers. I’ve always prided myself with the fact that I would turn no-one away. And up until now, it’s always been that way. I’ve had a man stop by that worked in gutters all day, mending pipelines. He was covered from head to toe with mud. Including his face, ears, and hair. Yet I welcomed him in. I’ve sat those in my chair that have mental disorders in the worst way. Seeing things that aren’t there, and suggesting things that concerned me about my own safety. I’ve had those that tried to steal from me, in my chair. Those that were rude, those that were smelly. Why could I not bring myself to cater to this dear lady? It surely does puzzle me.

If there is a next time…a time that God sends her my way again, she will have a place in my chair, and I will not charge her.

The reason for this post, is in hopes you who read it, will serve those that are sent your way…no matter what they may look like, sound like, or appear to be. I actually thought she was trying to take advantage of me. But it shouldn’t matter if she was. She was there for a reason, and it may have been a blessing in disguise. And I missed it. And I’m so embarrassed, knowing that God knows my heart.

“Let your light so shine before men, that they may know your good works and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” ~Matthew 5:16

It’s rarely about us, Passionistas…

Leave a Reply

