Elements New Branding…

It all began when my husband and I decided to make the move from Oklahoma to North Carolina. Knowing that starting over wasn’t going to be easy, I had to come up with a name for the business I planned on starting. I wasn’t really starting over…I was only moving an existing business 1200 miles away, where I was virtually unknown.

I wanted something that defined who I was, and what I intended this new adventure to become…or be. I searched, and researched, many descriptive names; even to the point of making crazy things up in my head. As I visited with Todd and Lindsey about a possible name, one of their suggestions settled in my spirit. I liked it. “Elements Salon” seemed to fit me.

And now the time of departure had made its entry, way sooner than I expected. The logo for the salon had not been completely decided upon. The graphic artist I had hired, couldn’t seem to find what I was looking for…it just wasn’t connecting with me. It was okay…it’s not that I didn’t like it…I did. But it’s never been “it.”

I find myself a year into the business, and still searching for the right branding. A few days ago, I ran across the logo brand you see here. There were three others that I liked almost as well; one in particular. But as I looked long and hard at these 4 girls, I knew this one was it. They represent the beauty of all things present, past, and futuristic. Elements…

Water, Wind, Earth, Fire Elements

Water, Wind, Earth, Fire Elements

There are elements in everything. Elements that connect fibers together to create many things. Almost all things. We, as human beings, are mind, body, and spirit…made up of all the elements you see here, in this picture. WATER (our bodies are 78% water, at birth), WIND (the breath of life, that causes us to inhale and exhale), EARTH (from the dust of the ground we were made…Gen. 2:7), and FIRE. Some would contend that we were not created with any type of fire, however, the Holy Scriptures talk about the “fire of God” in our bones and the “fire” of the spirit…so even though God may not of used literal fire, He certainly threw a great resemblance to it, inside of us. And any woman over the age of 45, can attest to that. 😉

But with all things evident, the natural comes first, then the spirit. It’s just the order of things God created from the beginning. And it runs through everything on our planet. Even what we put our hands to do. The creativity we posses, is because we were created in the image of a creative God…yet it will often times take on the appearance of “talent.” And with that talent, we create what is in our hearts to do. And you thought it was your idea, didn’t you?

In the beauty industry, there are many elements that make the whole, as well. One of my favorite elemental discoveries, is in the credibility and flexibility, of hair color. I consider myself to know quite a bit about this, yet feel as if I have so very much to learn. Over cooked, under moisturized hair color throws me for a loop. Especially when it’s 5 or 6 layers of color. I just want to cut it all off, put the client on a regiment of hair care products, and THEN create beauty! Which is what I usually do. It’s simply useless to try working through mud.

As we were preparing for departure, and for times sake, I settled on the leaf design that is my current logo. I needed menu’s and cards to take with me to NC. My long-time graphic provider would need to get things going. So it was a rushed decision. But now…well, it seems I have found what I’ve been looking for all along.

Another interesting tidbit: WATER is said to represent emotion and intuition. WIND, mental process, intellect, reason, human communication and social relationships. EARTH, practicality and stability. FIRE, passion, energy, impulse, and idealism. All of which is needed in the beauty industry. Or any industry, really.

Why now? I’ve never been happy with the current logo. The last couple of months, I’ve been putting my mental skills to the test of time. Praying for wisdom on a daily basis, I really needed to work “on” my job, as much as (if not more than), “at” my job. And this is what was at the top of the priority board. Hope you like it.

2 thoughts on “Elements New Branding…

Leave a Reply

