Transformations

Most of us would agree that change is not only necessary, it’s unavoidable. Sometimes we get to control an element of that change we feel coming our way, sometimes we don’t. Heather did.

We all face change…in one form or another, fairly regularly. For me, I am trying to find my “nitch” in social media, beginning with switching up Elements “Elemental News” that comes to you as a monthly newsletter. Seeing as how most of the population is extremely busy and most likely never reads it in it’s entirely (I’ve checked with y’all…ya can’t answer the questions I throw at ya that’s addressed in the newsletter), I’ve decided to make the bulk of the present newsletter as a blog post, and leave the Elemental News as a one pager that gives you the heads up on that month’s specials. And I may throw in a tip or two along the way.

This month, in the salon, I had the experience of transforming a style that had endured our unusally long and cold, winter season and was now needing transformed for the hot, North Carolina summers.

Heather came in with a big smile on her face, ready for the change. Little did I know just how much of a change she was going for. But I immediately loved her ideas. Many people come wanting “change” but one that is unrecognizable as being changed. Just a bit of difference on angles, a muted definition, a bit (1/2 inch) of length taken off. Rarely do I get a gal that will pull out all the stops. Well…Heather pulled out all the stops and gave me free range of motion. The results were nothing short of breath-taking. Well, that’s my opinion, at least. 😉 The last time I felt so giddy was when I was given the opportunity to change Lindsey’s hair. If you get my newsletters, she’s the one featured in April’s Elemental News.

The year 2014 has thrown the beauty industry into wild and bold expression that gives vent through the bleaching, then coloring of clients hair… green, blue, pink, purple, and a variety of rainbow shades. Some with multiple colors on one head! Some are really very pretty…some are a hot mess. I’ve noticed the artistic nature of the beauty professional being inspired by different colored birds, flowers, and skylines and applying those colors to the human species. I’ve often wondered if the Hunger Games movie, and all the diversified hair colors that were portrayed, has had anything to do with stirring up the creating of unnatural (for hair) pigments and playing the creative artist by placing vivid colors on protein infused hair strands…that would normally be exclusive for pictures and walls. Yet, for me…I still love the warmth and softness that comes from a realistic perspective. Call me boring…I just like seeing things in their natural element.

The highlights chosen for Heather, were of a soft nature, as was her cut. We didn’t go extreme pixie on her, but pixie, none-the-less.

Heather is a busy mom with a 3 year old little (in the loosest form of the word) boy. Like most mother’s, she doesn’t have a lot of extra time for herself and isn’t one that spends time standing in front of the mirror. She not only wanted, but needed, a fresh, new haircut for the summer months. Heather wanted to lose the “ponytail express” look and have something easy to style while giving her a cute and sassy look.

I just heard from her this morning. She was telling me how much she loves her new look. “I feel lighter, younger, and sassier,” she said. Alright! The goal was met! “I get compliments all the time now, and my husband loves it so much he wants me to keep it short all the time,” said she. “I feel like a better version of myself.”

Let me know what YOU think of this transformation. Would you have done anything differently? If so, what?

Forge on, Passionistas!

Heather P. April 16, 2014 #4

BEFORE the transformation

Heather P. April 16, 2014 #3

Heather P. April 16, 2014 #2 Back & Front (in mirror) of AFTER, and side view only

Heather P. April 16, 2014

STYLED side AFTER

Leave a Reply

